The best way to fail

Every year, people make a New Years resolution. I make one every year and usually only follow my pact for about a week. With that time of year sneaking up on us again I am reminded of the…

Failures:

*Not only did I not lose the weight I promised myself I was going to sweat off, in fact I gained probably at least 10 pounds.
*I still drink dark soda.
*I still have the OCCASIONAL ciggy when there are more adult beverages in that soda..shh don’t tell mom.
*That road trip with the best friend was put off for another year.
*Another summer was not spent with Sundays at the best river spot I have found.
*I made less, a lot less, money than I did last year.

However the failure I am most proud of comes from a promise I had made with my best friend. See, she is very much a realist while I am a optimist. I like seeing the good in people (even if there might not be any). We told ourselves that I was going to keep my feet on the ground this year and she was going to fly in the clouds. Which comes back to our title, this truly is the best way to fail at a resolution. Somewhere around February I had the realization that I enjoy having my head in the clouds about some things. I am an optimist because I want to believe that things can be better. I wasn’t always the most happy person and so the clouds were my escape from my own self. I can’t be a realist, that may work for her but I need to believe on my bad days that tomorrow will be a better one. This is how my mind works and this is what keeps my world going. I am not disappointed that I failed that time.

But in truth, money really isn’t everything. I might have made less money but I graduated with my Bachelors in Nursing. I enjoyed the food I ate and the not-working-out I did. I cut down on dark sodas, I have only had two ciggys. Ok ok, that road trip is probably never going to happen but I get lost easy so that might be a good thing. Sundays were not spent at the lake but they were spent with the man of my dreams.

All in all, I still consider this year a win because it was a great one. Not all my resolutions were busts, biggest win of all was that I found a guy that treats me right.. So, thank you New Years Baby for not giving me the will power for the rest of my resolutions so that this last one could come true. If that is what you do, i am unsure. But I will get my revenge for the weight thing!!

Leave a Reply

